The Military Police

The Military Police provide a variety of operational, law enforcement, investigative and security services at Bases and Units across Canada and throughout the world, wherever the Canadian Armed Forces serve.

There are currently more than 2,000 Military Police members in the Canadian Armed Forces, approximately 1,400 of whom are sworn peace officers. They exercise policing jurisdiction within the Forces, and over all persons on DND property. The remaining 650 Military Police are members of the Reserve Force (who are usually not sworn peace officers).

Military Police form an integral part of the military justice system in much the same way civilian police act within the civil and criminal justice system. They routinely train and work with their civilian counterparts in the provision of police and security services to the Canadian Forces and the Department of National Defence.

Members of the Military Police are appointed under regulations for the purposes of National Defence Act section 156 and, as such, are awarded certain powers in order to fulfill their policing duties. For example, Military Police have the power to arrest, detain, and search without regard to rank.

The Criminal Code of Canada recognizes Military Police members as peace officers. They have the same powers of search, seizure and arrest as civilian police and they can lay charges in civilian criminal courts. Military Police members posted to the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service additionally can lay charges under the Code of Service Discipline of the National Defence Act (an authority otherwise reserved to the military chain of command).

For additional information about the Military Police, please see the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Web site.

Date modified:

La police militaire

La police militaire dispense une gamme variée de services de sécurité, d'enquête, de maintien de l'ordre et d'opérations à des bases et des unités au Canada et dans le monde, partout où se trouvent les Forces armées canadiennes.

Il y a actuellement plus de 2 000 membres de la police militaire dans les Forces armées canadiennes, dont 1 400 qui sont des agents de la paix certifiés. Ils exercent leur juridiction policière au sein des Forces et aux personnes sur les propriétés du MDN. Les autres 650 membres de la police militaire sont des réservistes (ils ne sont pas des agents de la paix certifiés).

La police militaire fait partie intégrante du système de justice militaire de la même manière que les forces de police agissent au sein du système de justice civil et pénal. Ses membres suivent leur formation et travaillent couramment avec leurs homologues civils, dispensant aux Forces canadiennes et au ministère de la Défense nationale des services en matière de police et de sécurité.

Les membres de la police militaire sont désignés par réglementation aux fins de l’article 156 de la Loi sur la défense nationale et, à ce titre, disposent de certains pouvoirs pour accomplir leurs fonctions de nature policière. Ainsi, ils sont habilités à procéder à des arrestations, à des détentions ainsi qu'à des fouilles et à des perquisitions sans égard au rang.

Selon le Code criminel du Canada, les policiers militaires sont des agents de la paix. Ils ont les mêmes pouvoirs de fouille, saisie et arrestation que les policiers civils et ils peuvent porter des accusations devant des tribunaux civils. Les membres de la police militaire postés au Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes peuvent en outre porter des accusations en vertu du Code de discipline militaire de la Loi sur la Défense nationale (une juridiction autrement réservée à la chaîne de commandement militaire).

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la police militaire, veuillez consulter le site Web du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes.

Date de modification :