Standards of Service - Policy on Complaints about Employees or Agents of the Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC)

Table of Contents

  1. Preamble
  2. Effective Date
  3. Policy Statement
  4. Application
  5. Definitions
  6. Responsibility and Authority
  7. Monitoring
  8. References
  9. Enquiries

1. Preamble

The purpose of this policy is to create a transparent and fair method of responding to complaints about the Military Police Complaints Commission, its employees and agents.

2. Effective Date

The effective date of this policy is June 11, 2008.

3. Policy Statement

The MPCC is committed to providing the highest quality of services and to being open and transparent. The MPCC is also committed to continuous self-improvement.

4. Application

This policy applies to complaints against employees or agents of the MPCC.

5. Definitions

None

6. Responsibility and Authority

6.1 Identifying Complaints

Dissatisfaction with the outcome of an investigation is not a complaint. The complaint procedure is not another forum for reconsideration, appeal or judicial review. If the MPCC receives a complaint for which the appropriate action to take is to apply for a reconsideration, to appeal or to apply for a judicial review of a decision, the MPCC will inform the complainant accordingly.

As part of the MPCC's commitment to service quality, it will accept complaints concerning services provided by the MPCC or about the conduct of MPCC employees or agents. Complaints will only be accepted from persons directly affected by the service or conduct that is the subject of the complaint. A complaint must be made within 30 days of the incident that is the subject of the complaint.

Should a person who was not directly affected by the subject matter of the complaint make a complaint (third party complainant), the MPCC shall, as soon as possible after receiving the complaint, attempt to find the person who was directly affected by the subject matter of the complaint and send him or her a notice.

The notice shall indicate that a complaint has been received; that the person is entitled to be the complainant in the matter and that the complaint will not be dealt with further unless he or she wishes to pursue the complaint.

The complaint shall not be further dealt with if the person to who the MPCC sends the notice, does not within 30 days of the date of the notice respond to the MPCC with a request to be the complainant in the matter, or if no person capable of being the complainant is identified within 30 days of receipt of the complaint.

6.2 Initial Response

The policy and the process referred to within, only applies to complaints that are received in writing. Complaints that are not received in writing will be brought to the attention of the Chair and will be dealt with on a case-by-case basis, in a manner that the Chair deems appropriate. It is anticipated that oral complaints may be resolved at this stage. Should a resolution not be deemed possible at this stage, the complainant will be advised of his or her right to submit a letter of complaint. Oral complaints and resolutions will be documented and both the complainant and the subject of the complaint will be notified of the resolution.

Complaints will be accepted in either official language and treated with confidentiality.

All written complaints received by the MPCC will be forwarded to the Chair. Within five days of receiving the complaint, a letter of acknowledgement will be sent. If the matter can be dealt with immediately, this letter will also serve as the resolution. Furthermore, if the Chair is of the opinion on reasonable grounds that the complaint is frivolous, vexatious and/or discloses no genuine issue for investigation, the complainant will be so informed. If any further action is required, the letter will advise how long it should take to receive a further response.

If the circumstances permit, the Chair may determine that the complaint is best resolved by informal means such as mediation or facilitation.

Within 14 days of receipt of a written complaint or within 5 days of a determination that informal means will not resolve the complaint, the Chair will:

6.3 Investigation

The investigation may include, but will not necessarily be limited to, interviews with MPCC employees or agents, the complainant and others, as appropriate, discussions with relevant stakeholders and reviews of case files, transcripts and other relevant documentation.

The designated investigator will prepare a report for the Chair within 30 days of assignment. If this is not feasible, an interim report will be prepared and submitted pending completion of the final report, which shall be submitted as soon as practical thereafter.

The Chair will determine the appropriate resolution.

A concluding letter will be sent to the complainant and the subject of the complaint explaining the outcome of the investigation. This letter must also be in compliance with Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

If the complaint stems from systemic issues, it may be resolved with an explanation or changes to policies and procedures. However, if warranted, the Chair will meet with the employee and his or her manager to discuss the findings of the investigation and any remedial action.

Any remedial or disciplinary action taken must comply with legislation, collective agreements, jurisprudence, the Access to Information Act, the Privacy Act, as well as other relevant policies.

Where the outcome of the investigation may affect MPCC policies, procedures and/or operations, the appropriate information will be communicated to the relevant employees as soon as practicable.

7. Monitoring

The Chair will produce reports to management on the frequency and nature of complaints, and provide useful information derived from complaints to relevant sections of the organization to prevent the recurrence of problems. The Chair will monitor complaints about employees or agents and ensure that the system works.

8. Reference

This policy should be read in conjunction with the following documents:

9. Enquiries

Enquiries concerning this policy should be directed to the Chief of Staff.

Date modified:

Normes de service - Politique sur les plaintes relatives aux employés ou aux agents de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM)

Table des matières

  1. Préambule
  2. Date d'entrée en vigueur
  3. Énoncé de politique
  4. Application
  5. Définitions
  6. Responsabilités et pouvoirs
  7. Surveillance
  8. Références
  9. Renseignements

1. Préambule

L'objectif de cette politique est de mettre sur pied un mécanisme transparent et équitable pour faire suite aux plaintes concernant la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire, ses employés ou ses agents.

2. Date d'entrée en vigueur

La présente politique est en vigueur depuis le 11 juin 2008.

3. Énoncé de politique

La CPPM s'engage à fournir des services de haute qualité ainsi qu'à faire preuve d'ouverture et de transparence. Elle a également à cœur l'amélioration continue.

4. Application

Cette politique s'applique à toutes les plaintes relatives aux employés ou aux agents de la CPPM.

5. Définitions

Aucune

6. Responsabilités et pouvoirs

6.1 Identification des plaintes

L'insatisfaction concernant le résultat d'une enquête ne constitue pas une plainte. Le processus de plaintes n'est pas un mécanisme qui remplace la demande de réexamen, d'appel ou de révision judiciaire. Si la CPPM reçoit une plainte pour laquelle le mécanisme approprié serait l'un de ceux qui précèdent, elle en avisera le plaignant.

Dans le cadre de son engagement concernant la qualité des services, la CPPM acceptera les plaintes liées à ses services ou à la conduite de ses employés et agents. Ces plaintes devront être déposées par les personnes directement touchées par le service ou l'action faisant l'objet d'une plainte. Cette dernière doit être déposée dans les trente jours suivant l'incident.

Si une personne qui n'est pas directement touchée par l'objet de la plainte (tiers plaignant) en dépose une, la CPPM doit, dès que possible après avoir reçu la plainte, tenter d'identifier la personne qui est directement touchée par l'incident et lui faire parvenir un avis.

L'avis doit indiquer qu'une plainte a été reçue, que la personne est autorisée à être le plaignant et que la plainte n'ira pas plus loin, sauf s'il désire qu'il en soit autrement.

On ne doit pas donner suite à la plainte si, dans les trente jours suivant la date d'émission de l'avis, la personne à laquelle la CPPM a envoyé l'avis n'indique pas qu'elle souhaite être le plaignant, ou si aucun plaignant n'est identifié dans les trente jours suivant la réception de la plainte.

6.2 Mesures initiales

La politique et le processus mentionnés dans la présente ne s'appliquent qu'aux plaintes écrites. Les autres types de plaintes seront portés à l'attention du président et seront traitées au cas par cas, de la façon jugée appropriée par le président. Les plaintes verbales peuvent être résolues à cette étape. Si aucune entente ne peut être conclue, on informera le plaignant de son droit de déposer une lettre de plainte. Les plaintes verbales et les ententes seront consignées; le plaignant et la personne faisant l'objet de la plainte seront avisés du résultat.

Les plaintes peuvent être soumises dans l'une ou l'autre des langues officielles. Le processus est confidentiel.

Toutes les plaintes écrites reçues par la CPPM seront acheminées au président. Dans les cinq jours suivant la réception de la plainte, un accusé de réception sera envoyé. Si l'affaire peut être réglée immédiatement, cette lettre agira ainsi à titre de règlement de la plainte. De plus, si le président est d'avis que la plainte est futile, vexatoire et/ou non fondée, le plaignant en sera informé. Si d'autres mesures doivent être prises, le délai de réponse sera indiqué dans la lettre.

Si les circonstances le permettent, le président peut déterminer que la plainte devrait être résolue par le biais de mécanismes informels, notamment la médiation ou la facilitation.

Dans les quatorze jours suivant la réception d'une plainte écrite, ou dans les cinq jours suivant la décision que les mécanismes informels ne pourront être utilisés, le président prendra les mesures suivantes :

6.3 Enquête

La procédure d'enquête peut comprendre : des entrevues avec des employés ou des agents de la CPPM, le plaignant et d'autres personnes, au besoin; des discussions avec les personnes concernées; un examen des dossiers, des transcriptions et autres documents pertinents.

L'enquêteur désigné disposera de trente jours pour rédiger un rapport à l'intention du président. Si le délai ne peut être respecté, un rapport d'étape devra être rédigé puis soumis en attendant le rapport final, lequel devra être déposé dès que possible.

Le président prendra la décision appropriée.

Le plaignant et la personne concernée par la plainte recevront une lettre dans laquelle on présente le résultat de l'enquête. Cette lettre doit respecter la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ainsi que la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Si la plainte découle de problèmes systémiques, elle peut être résolue grâce à des explications ou à des changements aux politiques et procédures. Cependant, si la situation le justifie, le président rencontrera l'employé et son gestionnaire pour discuter des conclusions de l'enquête ainsi que des mesures à prendre, si nécessaire.

Toute mesure corrective ou disciplinaire prise doit être conforme à la législation, aux conventions collectives, à la jurisprudence, à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à toute autre politique pertinente.

Si le résultat de l'enquête a une incidence sur les politiques, les procédures et/ou les activités de la CPPM, l'information nécessaire sera communiquée aux employés concernés dès que possible.

7. Surveillance

Le président produira des rapports pour la gestion sur la fréquence et la nature des plaintes et fournit des renseignements utiles aux sections intéressées de l'organisme afin d'éviter que les problèmes ne resurgissent. Le président surveillera les plaintes relatives aux employés ou aux agents et veillera au bon fonctionnement du système.

8. Références

Cette politique doit être lue compte tenu des documents suivants :

9. Renseignements

Les demandes de renseignements concernant la présente politique doivent être adressées au chef de cabinet.

Date de modification :