2015-2016 Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conference fees for the Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (MPCC) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2016. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government's priorities.

Under Part IV of the National Defence Act, the MPCC mandate is to examine complaints arising from either the conduct of Military Police members in the exercise of policing duties or functions or from interference in their police investigations. To carry out this mandate, the Chairperson has the power to investigate, to cause the MPCC to conduct a public interest investigation, convene public hearings, and report its findings and make recommendations based on those findings. The MPCC also sustained its Outreach Program, clarifying its mandate and complaints processes to its stakeholders.

Detailed information can be found in the MPCC's Report on Plans and Priorities, Departmental Performance Report and Annual Report.

Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the MPCC
(in dollars)
Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016 Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015 Change
Travel: Public Servants 22,174 64,986 (42,812)
Travel: Non-Public Servants 50,752 36,919 13,833
Total Travel 72,926 101,905 (28,979)
Hospitality 1,121 1,225 (104)
Conference Fees 0 798 (798)
Total 74,047 103,928 (29,881)
International Travel by Minister and Minister's Staff (also included in Non-Public Servant travel) N/A N/A N/A

Significant Variances Compared With the Previous Fiscal Year

Travel:
  • Public Servants: Compared to 2014-15, departmental travel expenditures by public servants decreased significantly. The higher amount in 2014-15 was a result of travel by the previous Chairperson, who lived in Windsor, Ontario, resulting in increased travel costs between Ottawa and Windsor for MPCC business and the Fynes Public Interest Hearing (PIH).
  • Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental travel expenditures by non-public servants increased mainly due to a higher volume of investigations conducted outside of headquarters area.
Hospitality:
Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental hospitality expenditures did not change significantly.
Conferences Fees:
Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental conference fees expenditures decreased to zero since there were no conferences held within the last year.
Date modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences 2015-2016

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (CPPM) pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l'appui du mandat du ministère ou de l'organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

En vertu de la partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale, le mandat de la CPPM est d'examiner les plaintes découlant soit de la conduite des membres de la police militaire dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions policières ou de l'ingérence dans une enquête policière. Pour réaliser ce mandat, le président a le pouvoir d'enquêter, de provoquer la CPPM de mener une enquête d'intérêt public, de tenir des audiences publiques, et de rendre compte de ses conclusions et de faire des recommandations fondées sur ces conclusions. La CPPM a également poursuivi son Programme de sensibilisation, afin de clarifier son mandat et ses processus de plaintes auprès de ses intervenants.

Le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités, le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la CPPM et le Rapport annuel renferment de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de la CPPM
(en dollars)
Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Écart
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 22 174 64 986 (42 812)
Voyages - Non-fonctionnaires 50 752 36 919 13 833
Total des dépenses de voyage 72 926 101 905 (28 979)
Accueil 1 121 1 225 (104)
Frais de participation aux conférences 0 798 (798)
Total 74 047 103 928 (29 881)
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre (également inclus dans les voyages des non-fonctionnaires) S/O S/O S/O

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyage :
  • Fonctionnaires : En comparaison avec l'exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses de voyage des fonctionnaires du ministère ont diminué de manière significative. Le montant plus élevé en 2014-2015 a été le résultat des voyages par l’ancien président, qui vivait à Windsor, Ontario. Cela a entraîné une augmentation des frais de déplacement entre Ottawa et Windsor pour les activités de la CPPM et pour l'audience d'intérêt public (AIP) Fynes.
  • Non-fonctionnaires : En comparaison avec l'exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses de voyage des non-fonctionnaires du ministère ont augmenté principalement en raison d'un plus grand volume d’enquêtes menées hors de la zone d’affectation.
Accueil :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses d'accueil de la CPPM n’ont pas changés de manière significative.
Frais de participation aux conférences :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2014-2015, les frais de participation aux conférences du ministère ont diminué à zéro car il n’y avait pas de conférences tenues dans la dernière année.
Date de modification :