Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information

Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada

Table of Contents

General Information

Introduction to Info Source

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Act and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The Introduction and an index of institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act are available centrally.

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.

Background

The Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (MPCC) was established by the Government of Canada to provide independent civilian oversight of the Canadian Forces Military Police (MP), effective December 1, 1999. This was executed by an amendment to the National Defence Act (NDA), Part IV of which sets out the full mandate of the MPCC and how complaints are to be handled. As stated in Issue Paper No. 8, which accompanied the Bill that created the MPCC, its role is "to provide for greater public accountability by the Military Police and the chain of command in relation to Military Police investigations." The MPCC reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Defence.

Responsibilities

The Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada’s (MPCC) mandate is to:

The MPCC’s mission is to promote and ensure the highest standards of conduct of MP in the performance of policing duties and to discourage interference in any MP investigation.

The MPCC fulfills its mandate and mission by exercising the following responsibilities:

In fulfilling its independent civilian oversight responsibilities, the MPCC has a crucially important working relationship with the CFPM and the Deputy Commander Canadian Forces Military Police Group/Professional Standards (DComd CF MP Gp/PS). On April 1, 2011, the CFPM assumed full command of all MP members who are directly involved in policing. The CFPM also assigns MP elements to other supported commanders under operational command.

The DComd CF MP Gp/PS manages public complaint and internal MP misconduct investigations and ensures adherence to the Military Police Professional Code of Conduct.

Fostering a mutually respectful working relationship between the MPCC, the CFPM and DComd CF MP Gp/PS facilitates the conduct of complaint investigations and the likelihood that recommendations will be accepted and implemented.

For more information on the MPCC, please see the About Us webpage.

Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

Complaints Resolution

This program aims to successfully resolve complaints about the conduct of the Military Police (MP) members as well as complaints of interference with MP investigations by overseeing and reviewing all complaints received. This program is necessary to help the MP to be as effective and as professional as possible in their policing duties or functions.

For more information on the Complaints Process and Complaints Resolution, please see the About Us webpage.

Complaints Review and Investigations/Hearings

Description: Information consisting of documentation on the complaint handling process of the MPCC.
Document Types: Correspondence; complaint file summaries and tracking; Military Police (MP) investigation reports; Canadian Forces Military Police Group (CF MP Gp)/Professional Standards investigation reports; electronic and paper MPCC investigative products and reports.
Record Number: MPCC OPS 010

Note: Includes information previously found in PPU 055 MP Complaints Case Management System.

Legal Research

Description: Information on the administration of legal matters and legal advice relating to the handling of complaints, requests for review, and public interest investigations/hearings ordered  by the MPCC.
Document Types: Legal opinions; Federal Court judicial review applications; agreements; court documents; submissions to a Public Interest Investigation or Hearing.
Record Number: MPCC OPS 015

Class of Individuals: General public; complainants; members of the CF MP Gp including MP subjects, the CFPM and his staff; senior CAF and DND officials; witnesses and other parties to the complaint.
Purpose: The information in this bank enables the MPCC to carry out its mandate when handling complaints concerning the conduct of members of the MP; complaints by an MP or his/her direct supervisor, alleging interference in an investigation; or public interest investigations/hearings called by the MPCC. The personal information retained relates to the legal position and legal opinions developed by the MPCC to the pertinent individual(s) and case(s).
Consistent Uses: The information is consistently used by the MPCC to fulfil its mandate under Part IV of the NDA.
Retention and Disposal Standards: Information in this bank is retained until its operational value expires and is then eligible for destruction.
RDA Number: 2004/013
Related Record Number: MPCC OPS 015
TBS Registration: 20110400
Bank Number: MPCC PPU 060

Reports

Description: Information on the preparation of MPCC interim and final reports of the Chairperson, on reviews, investigations or hearings as well as special reports, papers, and legislative submissions. Final reports of public interest investigations/hearings are posted and all non-public interest cases are posted as de-personalized summaries on the MPCC's website.
Document Types: Interim Reports; Final Reports; Concluding Reports, special reports; issue papers; legislative submissions.
Record Number: MPCC OPS 020

Internal Services

Internal services constitute groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are management and oversight services, communications services, legal services, human resources management services, financial management services, information management services, information technology services, real property services, materiel services, acquisition services, and travel and other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Acquisition Services

Acquisition services involve activities undertaken to acquire a good or service to fulfill a properly completed request (including a complete and accurate definition of requirements and certification that funds are available) until entering into or amending a contract.

Communications Services

Communications services involve activities undertaken to ensure that Government of Canada communications are effectively managed, well-coordinated and responsive to the diverse information needs of the public. The communications management function ensures that the public - internal or external - receives government information, and that the views and concerns of the public are taken into account in the planning, management and evaluation of policies, programs, services and initiatives.

Financial Management

Financial management services involve activities undertaken to ensure the prudent use of public resources, including planning, budgeting, accounting, reporting, control and oversight, analysis, decision support and advice, and financial systems.

Human Resources Management

Human resources management services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, allocating resources among services and processes, as well as activities relating to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies and plans.

Information Management Services

Information management services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective information management to support program and service delivery; foster informed decision making; facilitate accountability, transparency and collaboration; and preserve and ensure access to information and records for the benefit of present and future generations.

Information Technology Services

Information technology services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective use of information technology to support government priorities and program delivery, to increase productivity, and to enhance services to the public.

Legal Services

Legal services involve activities undertaken to enable government departments and agencies to pursue policy, program and service delivery priorities and objectives within a legally sound framework.

Management and Oversight Services

Management and oversight services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction and allocating resources among services and processes, as well as those activities related to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies or plans.

Materiel Services

Materiel services involve activities undertaken to ensure that materiel can be managed by departments in a sustainable and financially responsible manner that supports the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Real Property Services

Real property services involve activities undertaken to ensure that real property is managed in a sustainable and financially responsible manner, throughout its life cycle, to support the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Travel and Other Administrative Services

Travel and other administrative services include Government of Canada travel services, as well as those other internal services that do not smoothly fit with any of the internal services categories.

Legend

Manuals

Additional Information

The Government of Canada encourages the release of information through requests outside of the ATIP process. You may wish to consult the MPCC’s completed Access to Information (ATI) summaries. To make an informal request, contact:

Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
270 Albert Street, 10th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5G8

Telephone: 613-995-9650
Facsimile: 613-947-5713
E-mail: commission@mpcc-cppm.gc.ca
Internet: www.mpcc-cppm.gc.ca

Please see the Introduction to this publication for information on formal access procedures under the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. The following outlines how to make a formal ATIP request.

Mail your letter or Access to Information Request Form (Access to Information Act) or Personal Information Request Form (Privacy Act), along with any necessary documents (such as consent or the $5.00 application fee for a request under the Access to Information Act) to the following address:

Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
270 Albert Street, 10th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5G8

Please note: Each request made to the MPCC under the Access to Information Act must be accompanied by an application fee of $5.00, cheque or money order made payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

Reading Room

In accordance with the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act, an area on the premises will be made available should the applicant wish to review materials on site. The address is:

270 Albert Street, 10th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario

Date modified:

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux

Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada

Table des matières

Renseignements généraux

Présentation d'Info Source

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux fournit de l'information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il donne aux personnes et aux employés du gouvernement (actuels et anciens) des renseignements pertinents afin de leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant et qui sont détenus par les institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et à les aider à exercer leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Un accès central permet de consulter l'avant-propos d'Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux et la liste des institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels confèrent au président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre responsable) les responsabilités générales pour ce qui est de l'administration pangouvernementale de ces deux lois.

Historique

La Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (CPPM) a été établie par le gouvernement du Canada afin d'assurer une surveillance civile autonome de la police militaire (PM) des Forces armées canadiennes. Entrée en vigueur le 1er décembre 1999, la CPPM a été créée grâce à une modification apportée à la partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN), qui décrit le plein mandat de la CPPM et le processus de traitement des plaintes. Comme on l'indique dans le document d'information no 8 présenté à l'appui du projet de loi qui a permis de créer la CPPM, son rôle est de permettre à la PM et à la chaîne de commandement de rendre des comptes au grand public sur les enquêtes de la PM. La CPPM est redevable au Parlement par l'intermédiaire du ministre de la Défense nationale.

Responsabilités

Le mandat de la CPPM est de :

La mission de la CPPM consiste à assurer l'application des normes déontologiques les plus élevées chez les policiers militaires et à dissuader toute forme d'ingérence dans les enquêtes.

La CPPM s'acquitte de son mandat et de sa mission en assumant les responsabilités suivantes :

Dans l'exécution de ses responsabilités de surveillance civile indépendante, la CPPM a noué une relation de travail d'importance cruciale et axée sur la collaboration avec le GPFC et le commandant adjoint du Groupe de la police militaire des Forces canadiennes/Normes professionnelles (CmdtA Gp PM FC/NP). Depuis le 1er avril 2011, le GPFC assume le commandement intégral de tous les membres de la PM qui jouent des fonctions policières actives. Le GPFC affecte aussi des éléments de la PM à d'autres commandants appuyés sous commandement opérationnel.

Le CmdtA Gp PM FC/NP gère les enquêtes faisant suite à des plaintes de la part du grand public et à des plaintes internes pour inconduite mettant en cause des policiers militaires, et veille à faire respecter le Code de déontologie de la police militaire.

En établissant avec le GPFC et le CmdtA Gp PM FC/NP des relations de travail fondées sur le respect mutuel, la CPPM instaure un contexte plus propice aux enquêtes sur les plaintes et favorise l'acceptation de ses recommandations et leur mise en œuvre.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la CPPM, veuillez visiter la page Web À propos de nous.

Fonctions, programmes et activités de l'institution

Résolution des plaintes

L'objectif de ce programme est de régler avec succès les plaintes portant sur la conduite des membres de la police militaire (PM) ainsi que les plaintes pour ingérence dans les enquêtes de la PM, en surveillant et en révisant toutes les plaintes reçues. Ce programme est essentiel afin d'aider les membres de la PM à exercer leurs fonctions de nature policière avec toute l'efficacité et le professionnalisme possibles.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la CPPM, veuillez visiter la page Web À propos de nous.

Examen des plaintes et enquêtes/audiences

Description : Renseignements composés de documents sur le processus de traitement des plaintes de la CPPM.
Types de documents : Correspondance; sommaires et suivi des fiches des plaintes; rapports d’enquête de la police militaire (PM); rapports d’enquête du Groupe de la Police militaire des Forces canadiennes (Gp PM FC) et rapports d’enquête sur les normes professionnelles; produits et rapports qui résultent des enquêtes de la CPPM, version électronique et papier.
Numéro du dossier : CPPM OPS 010

Nota : Comprend de l’information qu’on retrouvait auparavant dans le PPU 055 Système de gestion des dossiers de plaintes concernant la PM.

Recherche juridique

Description : Renseignements sur l’administration des questions juridiques et des avis juridiques, le traitement des plaintes et les demandes de révision ainsi que sur les enquêtes/audiences d’intérêt public reçues ou entendues par la CPPM.
Types de documents : Avis juridiques, demandes de révision à la Cour fédérale, ententes, documents de la cour, présentations d’enquête ou d’audience d’intérêt public.
Numéro du dossier : CPPM OPS 015

Rapports

Description : Renseignements sur la préparation par le président des rapports préliminaires et finaux de la CPPM portant sur les examens, enquêtes ou audiences publiques ainsi que les rapports spéciaux, documents et présentations juridiques. Les rapports finaux sur les enquêtes/audiences d'intérêt public sont publiés sur le site Web de la CPPM et tout cas qui n'est pas d'intérêt public est publié sous forme de résumé sans qu'il ne contienne de renseignements personnels.
Types de documents : Rapports préliminaires individuels; rapports finaux individuels; rapports spéciaux; questions; présentations juridiques.
Numéro du dossier : CPPM OPS 020

Services internes

Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion des acquisitions ; services des communications ; services de gestion des finances ; services de gestion des ressources humaines ; services de gestion de l'information ; services des technologies de l'information ; services juridiques ; services de gestion et de surveillance ; services de gestion du matériel ; services de gestion des biens ; services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Services de gestion des acquisitions

Activités mises en œuvre dans de but de se procurer les biens et les services requis pour répondre à une demande dûment remplie (y compris une définition complète et précise des exigences et la garantie que les fonds sont disponibles), et ce, jusqu’à la passation ou à la modification d’un marché.

Services de communications

Activités mises en œuvre afin de veiller à ce que les communications du gouvernement du Canada soient gérées efficacement, bien coordonnées et répondent aux divers besoins d’information du public. La fonction de gestion des communications assure la diffusion de renseignements gouvernementaux au public interne et externe ainsi que la prise en considération de ses préoccupations et intérêts dans la planification, la gestion et l’évaluation des politiques, des programmes, des services et des initiatives.

Services de gestion financière

Activités visant à assurer l’utilisation responsable des ressources publiques comme la planification, la gestion budgétaire, la comptabilité, la production de rapports, le contrôle et la surveillance, l’analyse, les conseils et le soutien au processus décisionnel, ainsi que les systèmes financiers.

Services de gestion des ressources humaines

Activités de détermination de l’orientation stratégique, d’affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l’analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d’atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans applicables.

Services de gestion de l'information

Activités visant à assurer une gestion efficiente et efficace de l’information à l’appui de la prestation de programme et de services, à faciliter la prise de décisions éclairées, à faciliter la reddition des comptes, la transparence et la collaboration, ainsi qu’à conserver l’information et les documents pour le bénéfice de la présente génération et des générations futures en veillant à ce qu’ils demeurent accessibles.

Services de technologie de l'information

Activités dont le but est d’assurer l’utilisation efficiente et efficace de la technologie de l’information, à l’appui des priorités gouvernementales et de la mise en œuvre de programmes afin d’accroître la productivité et d’améliorer les services offerts au public.

Services juridiques

Activités permettant aux ministères et organismes de réaliser les priorités et d'atteindre les objectifs associés à leurs politiques, programmes et services dans un cadre juridique approprié.

Services de gestion et de surveillance

Activités de détermination de l’orientation stratégique, d’affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l’analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d’atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans qui s’appliquent.

Services de gestion du matériel

Activités visant à assurer, de la part des ministères, une gestion du matériel durable et responsable sur le plan financier afin de soutenir l’exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services de gestion des biens immobiliers

Activités ayant pour objet d’assurer une gestion des biens immobiliers durable et responsable sur le plan financier, tout au long de leur cycle de vie, afin de soutenir l’exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services de gestion de voyage et autres services administratifs

Ces services comprennent les services de voyages du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi que les autres services internes qui ne correspondent à aucune autre catégorie de services internes.

Légende

Manuels

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le gouvernement du Canada encourage la publication d'information par l'intermédiaire de demandes informelles. Vous pouvez consulter les sommaires des demandes d'accès à l'information complétés en matière d'accès à l'information et les données ouvertes de la CPPM. Pour présenter une demande informelle, veuillez communiquer avec la personne suivante :

Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada
270, rue Albert, 10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5G8

Téléphone : 613-947-5625 ou 1-800-632-0566 (sans frais)
Télécopieur : 613-947-5713 ou 1-877-947-5713 (sans frais)
Courriel : commission@mpcc-cppm.gc.ca
Internet : www.mpcc-cppm.gc.ca

Veuillez consulter la présentation de cette publication pour obtenir des renseignements sur les procédures d'accès à l'information aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Voici comment présenter une demande officielle :

Postez votre lettre, votre formulaire de demande d'accès à l'information (Loi sur l'accès à l'information) ou formulaire de demande d'accès à des renseignements personnels (Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels), accompagné de tout document nécessaire (comme le consentement ou les frais de demande de 5,00 $ pour une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) à l'adresse suivante :

Coordonnateurs de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
270, rue Albert, 10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 5G8

Veuillez prendre note que chaque demande présentée à la CPPM en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information doit être accompagnée d'un chèque ou d'un mandat-poste de 5,00 $ émis à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada.

Salle de lecture

En vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, l'institution a désigné un espace dans ses bureaux comme salle de lecture publique de consultation des documents. L'adresse est la suivante :

Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada
270, rue Albert, 10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)

Date de modification :