Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited) for the year ending March 31, 2017

Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada
Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31
(in dollars)
Expenses Forecast Results
2016‑17
Planned Results
2017‑18
Complaints Resolution Program 2,400,220 2,477,428
Internal Services 2,662,165 2,611,151
Total expenses 5,062,385 5,088,579
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 5,062,385 5,088,579

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared on the basis of government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Departmental Plan.

The information in the forecast results for fiscal year 2016‑17 is based on actual results as at November 30, 2016 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for fiscal year 2017‑18.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

These assumptions are made as at November 30, 2016.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

Although every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2016‑17 and for 2017‑18, actual results achieved for both years are likely to differ from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this Future-Oriented Statement of Operations, the Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (MPCC) has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are based on past experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances, and are continually evaluated.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations and the historical statement of operations include:

After the Departmental Plan is tabled in Parliament, the MPCC will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Results Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared using the Government of Canada’s accounting policies in effect for the fiscal year 2016‑17, and is based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Expenses

The department records expenses on an accrual basis.

Expenses for the department’s operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charges for accommodation, employer contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and workers’ compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued, and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipients have met all the eligibility criteria and the transfers are authorized by March 31. In the case of transfers that do not form part of an existing program, the transfers are considered to be authorized when the government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statements.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence, or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities, to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets, which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The department is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the department differs from financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are based mainly on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the department has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities (in dollars)
  Forecast Results
2016‑17
Planned Results
2017‑18
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 5,062,385 5,088,579
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Services provided without charge by other government departments (235,593) (252,181)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (208,561) (217,677)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave (13,015) (15,421)
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (457,169) (485,279)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisition of tangible capital assets including work in progress 65,220 35,000
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 65,220 35,000
Forecast current year lapse 237,437 0
Requested authorities 4,907,873 4,638,300
(b) Authorities Requested (in dollars)
Authorities requested: Forecast Results
2016‑17
Planned Results
2017‑18
Vote 1 - Operating expenditures 4,440,089 4,207,948
Statutory amounts 467,784 430,352
Total authorities requested 4,907,873 4,638,300
Date modified:

État des résultats prospectif (non audité) pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2017

Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada
État des résultats prospectif (non audité)
Pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars
(en dollars)
Charges Résultats projetés
2016‑2017
Résultats prévus
2017‑2018
Programme de résolution des plaintes 2 400 220 2 477 428
Services internes 2 662 165 2 611 151
Total des charges 5 062 385 5 088 579
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 5 062 385 5 088 579

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

Notes à l'état des résultats prospectif (non audité)
Pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le rapport sur le plan ministériel.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats projetés de l'exercice 2016‑2017 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 novembre 2016 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l'exercice 2017‑2018.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 30 novembre 2016.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2016‑2017 et pour 2017‑2018, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de différer des prévisions financières présentées, et l’écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectif, la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (CPPM) a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances, et sont évaluées de façon continue.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique incluent :

Une fois que le plan ministériel est déposé au Parlement, la CPPM ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur les résultats.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement du Canada en vigueur pour l’exercice 2016‑2017, et s’appuie sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

(a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice.

Les charges de fonctionnement du ministère sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d'accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d'emploi sont accumulées et comptabilisées au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges lorsque les bénéficiaires répondent aux critères d’admissibilité et les transferts sont autorisés au plus tard le 31 mars. Dans le cas des transferts qui ne s’inscrivent pas dans le cadre d’un programme existant, les transferts sont considérés être autorisés lorsque le gouvernement annonce une décision de procéder à un transfert non récurrent, en autant que la loi habilitante ou l’autorisation de paiement soit approuvée par le Parlement avant l’achèvement des états financiers.

Les charges incluent également des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d'actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs, des provisions pour évaluation de prêts, de placements et d'avances, ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l'événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, lesquelles sont capitalisées à leur coût d'acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'actif.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Le ministère est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au ministère ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont principalement fondées sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l’exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net du ministère pour l’exercice diffère suivant qu’il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement et des autorisations demandées (en dollars)
  Résultats projetés
2016‑2017
Résultats prévus
2017‑2018
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 5 062 385 5 088 579
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (235 593) (252 181)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (208 561) (217 677)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires (13 015) (15 421)
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (457 169) (485 279)
Rajustements pour les postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles incluant travaux en cours 65 220 35 000
Total des postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations 65 220 35 000
Prévision de la péremption de l'année courante 237 437 0
Autorisations demandées 4 907 873 4 638 300
(b) Autorisations demandées (en dollars)
Autorisations demandées Résultats projetés
2016‑2017
Résultats prévus
2017‑2018
Crédit 1 - Dépenses de fonctionnement 4 440 089 4 207 948
Montants des postes législatives 467 784 430 352
Autorisations demandées totales 4 907 873 4 638 300
Date de modification :